top of page
  • The Court Supporters

Digging In With Darien Takle

Updated: Feb 11, 2021


Back at The Court Theatre for the first time since 2017, Darien Takle has returned to play Gen in Winding Up – her eighth Roger Hall play!


“I have always loved the atmosphere at the Court Theatre and the family feeling,” she says. “It’s a safe haven for actors and although I’m not good at leaving home I know I will find a Court family to keep me feeling safe.”


This year, Darien is celebrating 50 years in the business as an actress, singer, writer and director.


Her work spans the stage and screen, including roles in Xena: Warrior Princess; Heavenly Creatures and the AFTA Best Actress Film Award for her performance in Christmas.


This isn’t the first time her and Mark Hadlow have worked together either, having previously appeared on-stage together at The Court in Daughters of Heaven, based around the Parker-Hulme murder case.


“When we were rehearsing the first-ever production of Daughters of Heaven, playwright Michelanne Forster would arrive every day with rewritten scenes, scattering discarding scenes around the rehearsal room. It was an exciting time doing that play, but a lot of tension was around because the original jury and the classmates of Juliet Hulme and Pauline Parker were still around in Christchurch.”


Darien was also cast in Peter Jackson’s Heavenly Creatures, playing the Headmistress of Christchurch Girls High School.


“I was wearing a rather unfortunate grey wig and lots of latex wrinkles on my face – and Peter Jackson kept sending me back to makeup for more! Kate Winslet thought I was a real old lady and insisted I use her camper van! A lovely girl, so mature and thoughtful at 18 – it was her first major film.”

Darien Takle & Mark Hadlow in Winding Up
Darien Takle & Mark Hadlow in Winding Up

Speaking about reuniting with Mark Hadlow, Darien says, “I think we will make a very convincing married couple because we have a solid background as actors and as comedians. Mark makes me laugh and we both have a sense of what allows the audience to laugh and cry.”


Darien has fond memories of Christchurch, having visited the city as a young girl when her dad ran a textile business, Takle Textiles. She also performed several shows at The Court’s former Arts Centre home.


“I remember doing some singing at the vegetarian café, Dux de Lux, across from The Court Theatre. I was doing some late-night gigs, mainly singing Brecht and Piaf songs, when I was doing my solo show, Darien Takle Sings Brecht, in the small theatre at The Court.”


Darien hasn’t been alone in Christchurch this production, with her granddaughter Hope studying ballet here.


As for what’s she has planned next, Darien and Mark will be performing Winding Up at Centrepoint Theatre from 27 March – 2 May, after which, she is hoping to fly to Sydney to visit her son and new granddaughter.




98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page